Robinhood announces zero-fee crypto trading in Illinois

Robinhood recently tweeted that, their trading app will now allow zero-fee crypto trading in Illinois, making it the 29th state in the U.S. to get the commission-free round-the-clock trading service.

About a year ago when Robinhood first introduced their zero-fee crypto trading, they also mentioned that they will be slowly rolling it out to other states in the USA as well. While Illinois is the only state to get Robinhood Crypto this month so far, the trading app launched in two states last month in North Dakota and South Dakota.

Even before that in October, they launched their trading services in Rhode Island, Tennessee, Arkansas, and Wyoming. Pretty intense month.

Alright, so what tokens can be traded?

It’s a huge list yet, but it is within their plans to grow.  Initially, Robinhood Crypto only allowed the trading of bitcoin and ether but has only added four more almost one year later – litecoin, bitcoin cash, dogecoin, and ethereum classic.

Even though you can’t trade a lot of different tokens on the platform, users can still add 16 cryptocurrencies to a watch list and access market data, news, and price alerts on the same. The watchlist cryptocurrencies include ripple (XRP), zcash, monero, dash, stellar, qtum, bitcoin gold, omisego, NEO, and lisk.

Not too shabby..

Our thoughts

Robinhood has always been well known in the trading community for it’s zero-fee trading across stocks, options, and now crypto. I would like to see a faster growth in terms of different tokens that will be added to their lineup. Stay tuned for more updates!

Like it? Share with your friends!


Wilson is a 3x Startup Entrepreneur. He is passionate about the cryptocurrency space. You can catch him tweeting about cryptocurrency often @itswilson8 You can also email Wilson directly at

You may also like